The Culinary Trust supports innovative programs that solve issues associated with hunger, tackles and food literacy and promotes excellence in food writing as it relates to critical issues in the culinary world.

The Culinary Trust started its corporate life on February 7, 1984 under the name Cooking Advancement Research and Education Foundation (CAREF). Its first Trustees were the late Julia Child, CCP, Shirley Corriher, CCP, and Marlene Sorosky, CCP. CAREF was a charitable foundation formed to support research and education in the broad fields of culinary studies, whether from a scientific, literary or practical standpoint. Among CAREF’s significant accomplishments was providing scholarships for culinary education and grants for culinary research at a time when the culinary field was emerging from its popular perception as a trade to its current status as a profession.

Recognizing the close affinity of its mission with the goals of the IACP, in 1994, CAREF changed its name to the IACP Foundation and spent the next ten years working closely with the IACP to promote culinary research and education, as well as charitable activities such as hunger relief. By 2004, however, the IACP Foundation saw a need and opportunity to expand its efforts to include the preservation of culinary heritage in our rapidly changing foodways. The IACP Foundation changed its name to the all-inclusive The Culinary Trust, reflecting its updated mission. While still working closely with the IACP, the Trust serves the broad public interest and is focused in giving culinary professionals the tools and opportunities to understand and act on critical issues on the world of food.

Board of Trustees

Alexa Van de Walle, Chair

Nicole Aloni, Secretary

Andrea Branchini, Treasurer

Judith Dern

Adam Salomone, IACP Board Liaison 



Rick Bayless
Maxime Bilet
Emeril Lagasse
Jacques Pepin
Anne Willan
Martin Yan


  • 2016 Jill Conklin
  • 2015-2016 Kathleen Flinn
  • 2012-2015 Ken Rubin, CCP
  • 2010-2012 Karin Endy
  • 2008-2010 Janet Cabot
  • 2006-2008 Andrew F. Smith
  • 2004-2006 Robyn Lee
  • 2002-2004 Justin Newby
  • 2000-2002 Paul M. Barrett
  • 1999-2000 Catherine Evans, CCP
  • 1998-1999 Madge Griswold, CCP
  • 1997-1998 Jude Theriot, CCP
  • 1996-1997 Renie Steves, CCP
  • 1995-1996 Teresa J. Farney, CCP
  • 1994-1995 Nancy V. Barr, CCP
  • 1993-1994 Patrice Dionot
  • 1991-1993 Nancy Kirby Harris, CCP
  • 1990-1991 Carmen Jones, CCP
  • 1989-1990 Leslie Beal Bloom, CCP
  • 1987-1989 Blake Swihart, CCP
  • 1985-1987 Anne Byrd
  • 1984-1985 Marlene Sorosky